New and incumbent Trustees elected to new term

Limestone Learning Foundation
New and incumbent Trustees elected to new term
Posted on 10/17/2018
Image of LDSB Boardroom

Six new Trustees-elect will join three incumbents on the Limestone District School Board of Trustees in December for the new four-year term.

Laurie French (Greater Napanee) and Suzanne Ruttan (South Frontenac Township) were re-elected to represent their districts while Karen McGregor, who represents Central Frontenac, Addington Highlands and North Frontenac Townships, was acclaimed.

Joining the Board as first-time Trustees are Judith Brown (City of Kingston: Loyalist-Cataraqui, Collins-Bayridge & Lakeside Districts), Garrett Elliott (City of Kingston: Portsmouth, Trillium & Meadowbrook-Strathcona Districts), ), Bob Godkin (City of Kingston: Countryside & Pittsburgh Districts & Frontenac Islands), Robin Hutcheon (Townships of Loyalist & Stone Mills), Joy Morning (City of Kingston: Williamsville & Sydenham Districts, and Tom Gingrich (City of Kingston: Kingscourt-Rideau & King's Town Districts) who was acclaimed.

Elaine Crawford, Tom Mahoney, Paula Murray, Alec Ross and Helen Chadwick chose not to run for re-election.

“The job of school board trustee is an important one focused on protecting and improving public education, and on empowering our staff to provide high quality learning opportunities for all of our students,” says outgoing Chair Paula Murray. “I wish all new and re-elected trustees well as they navigate the ever-changing landscape of public education.”

Director of Education Debra Rantz is working with staff to support incoming Trustees in their new role. “Staff look forward to working with our new Board of Trustees to ensure we are working together positively and collaboratively to support student achievement and well-being using our strategic plan as our road map.”

School Board Trustees are locally-elected representatives of the public, and they are the community’s advocate for public education. They are required to carry out their responsibilities in a manner that assists the Board in fulfilling its duties under the Education Act. The new nine-member Limestone District School Board of Trustees will begin their new four-year term on December 1, 2018. They will be officially sworn in during a ceremony December 12, 2018 and will serve until November 30, 2022.

Learn more about the role of trustees.

For more information, please contact:
Karen Smith, Communications Officer
613-544-6925 x 314 | 613-328-0947 mobile
Jane Douglas, Communications officer
Communications Officer
613-544-6925 x 311 | 613-328-0916 mobile

The Limestone District School Board is situated on traditional territories of the Anishinaabe & Haudenosaunee.