LDSB Grads Awarded Thousands in Scholarships

Limestone Learning Foundation
LDSB Grads Awarded Thousands in Scholarships
Posted on 06/20/2024
Photo of the four award winners; two photos on top and two below. Photos inside a film-like template.
Several Limestone District School Board (LDSB) graduates have been awarded significant scholarships to put toward their post-secondary education this fall. 
Seth Morency has been selected to receive a $120,000 Schulich Leader Scholarship to study engineering at Dalhousie University. 
A graduate of La Salle Intermediate and Secondary School, Seth was awarded the scholarship based on his high academic achievement and positive leadership in the school and community.  
“I didn’t think [the scholarship] was real at first,” Morency said. “I was in shock when I found it was, and I was super excited. My goal is to be an environmental engineer. My interest is in trying to find ways to clean up the ocean. This scholarship gives me confidence in being able to achieve my goals."
Jonathan Li has been selected to receive a $100,000 Schulich Leader Scholarship to study science at the University of Toronto.  
A graduate of Kingston Secondary School (KSS), Li was nominated for his academic excellence, leadership in STEM and exceptional entrepreneurial skills.  
Vin Bassi, also from KSS, has been named a Queen’s University Commitment Scholar and will receive $48,000 over four years.
According to the Queen’s website, “the Commitment Scholars Award celebrates and recognizes demonstrated leadership in, and commitment to, racial justice, social justice, or diversity initiatives by a student in their high school or in their community.  
The award provides dedicated financial, academic, and career support to help students complete their degree.” 
KSS graduate Izzy Smallman has been awarded an $8,000 Western Scholarship of Excellence to put towards the Honours Bachelor of Science in Nursing program at Western University. This scholarship is awarded to students with the top high school admission average. 
Photo of four scholarship winners

Top from left: Seth Morency and Jonathan Li. Bottom from left: Vin Bassi and Izzy Smallman.
In addition, the Community Foundation for Lennox and Addington honoured four students from Ernestown Secondary School (ESS), one student from North Addington Education Centre (NAEC), and 16 from Napanee District Secondary School (NDSS) in their Take It For Granted presentation on June 11, 2024. 

The following students from ESS were awarded:

Rheanna Watson - Trustee Laurie French Youth Leadership Student Bursary – $250
Jayden Warling - Stoney Steps Artfest Stone Mills Bursary for the Arts – $500
Haylee McLeod - 100th Anniversary Social Work Scholarship – $300
Daxton Seguin - Rotary Club of Napanee Service Above Self Student Award – $1,000

The following NDSS students were awarded:

Joe Yeomans - The Goodyear Scholarship  $600

Geneva Rose - The Rotary Club of Napanee “Service Above Self” Student Award – $1,000

Ella Rickard - The Mary Jo Field Indigenous Student Award  $2,500

Rachel Perry - The Camden East Women's Institute Scholarship  $260

Ava Misevicius - The Werk Poole Student Bursary  $1,775 

Luke Paul - The Napanee Sports Association Award  $750

The Charlotte Uens Scholarship in the amount of $5,000
Geneva Rose
Emily DeRoche
Chloe Ferguson
Avalea King
Carissa Master
Maddy Hawley
Molly Dafoe
Meg Miller

The Charlotte Uens Scholarship in the amount of $3,225
Sarah Minaker
Patrick Carey 
Keyra Herrington
Cailin Huffman
Derek Li
Addison Holden
Jayden Holden
Marley Lambert

Congratulations to all LDSB graduates and scholarship winners! 

Group of 16 students from NDSS who won a Community Foundation for Lennox & Addington Take It For Granted award.

The Limestone District School Board is situated on traditional territories of the Anishinaabe & Haudenosaunee.