Chair and Vice Chair elected for 2020-2021 term

Limestone Learning Foundation
Chair and Vice Chair elected for 2020-2021 term
Posted on 12/10/2020
Chair Suzanne Ruttan & Vice Chair Tom Gingrich

Trustees of the Limestone District School Board re-elected Trustee Suzanne Ruttan as Chair for the 2020-2021 term at the Initial Board Meeting on December 9, 2020. First-time Trustee Tom Gingrich was elected as Vice Chair.

Chair Ruttan and Trustee Garrett Elliott were both nominated for the role of Chair of the Board. Trustees Gingrich and Robin Hutcheon were nominated for the Vice Chair position. vote for the positions by secret ballot. Trustees elect a Chair and Vice-Chair each year of their four-year mandate.

This is Chair Ruttan’s third term as Chair. She was first elected to the Limestone District School Board in October 2010 as the representative for the Township of South Frontenac. She served as Vice Chair of the Board for the 2017-2018 school year and Chair for the 2018-2019 and 2019-2020 school years.

Chair Ruttan expressed her appreciation upon being elected to the role of Chair for a third time this term. “It is a privilege to continue to serve as Chair of the Limestone District School Board. I will serve and fulfill my duties with integrity and mutual respect for students, staff, each other, and the broader communities we serve.”

She said she is committed to keeping the Board focused on its role which includes formulating policy, approving budgets and monitoring the Board’s strategic plan while ensuring every student succeeds in a safe and inclusive environment. “As a Board, we have started the necessary and critical work of confronting anti-Black and anti-Indigenous racism. We know there is a lot of work to do in our system, and in our communities. The LDSB Equity Action Plan is one of many steps the board is taking to work toward a more equitable district.”

Vice Chair Gingrich, who represents the Kingscourt-Rideau & King’s Town districts, was first elected in 2018. He serves as the Trustee representative of The Food Sharing Project Board of Directors and has served as the alternate Limestone representative on the Ontario Public School Boards’ Association. In his new role, Vice Chair Gingrich will chair the Education Policy and Operations Committee.

Trustees also selected their committee roles for the 2021 year. Trustees must serve on at least one committee in addition to the Whole Board (Caucus) and Education Policy and Operations Committee.

Ontario Public School Boards' Association (Alternate):
Trustee Tom Gingrich.

Audit Committee:
Trustee Laurie French (Chair)
Trustee Garrett Elliott

Awards Committee:
Trustee Garrett Elliott
Trustee  Tom Gingrich
Trustee Karen McGregor
Trustee Suzanne Ruttan (Alternate)

Special Education Advisory Committee:
Trustee Bob Godkin
Trustee Karen McGregor
Trustee Judith Brown (Alternate)

Environmental Sustainability Advisory Committee:
Trustee Judith Brown
Trustee Joy Morning

Parent Involvement Committee:
Trustee Robin Hutcheon
Trustee Bob Godkin  (Alternate)

Special Committee - Supervised Alternative Learning:
Trustee Joy Morning
Trustee Suzanne Ruttan (Alternate)

Expulsion Hearing Committee/Disciplinary Hearing Committee Pool:
Trustee Garrett Elliott
Trustee Bob Godkin
Trustee Karen McGregor
Trustee Robin Hutcheon (Alternate)
Trustee Suzanne Ruttan (Alternate)

Food Sharing Project:
Trustee Tom Gingrich
Trustee Laurie French (Alternate)

For more information, please contact:
Karen Smith, Communications Officer
613-544-6925 x 314 | 613-328-0947 mobile
Jane Douglas, Communications Officer
613-544-6925 x 311 | 613-328-0916 mobile



The Limestone District School Board is situated on traditional territories of the Anishinaabe & Haudenosaunee.